You are hereTWRC Scholarship (Due March 31st)

TWRC Scholarship (Due March 31st)

Starting in May 2009, The Woodlands Running Club (“TWRC”) awarded two college scholarships to seniors who graduate in May or June from high schools in The Woodlands area. The scholarships were awarded to one female and one male graduate who evidenced a strong commitment to running. The scholarship program was started as an initiative of former TWRC President Tony Allison and board members in 2009. That year the scholarships were $1000 each and in 2010 the amount of the scholarships was increased to $1500 each. The scholarship amount was increased to $2000 each in 2014. In early 2018 TWRC Board added a $1000 scholarship to the male and female runner up. In 2020 the Board decided to make the runner-up awards contingent on the number and quality of the applications.

The application process opens each year in early spring. Applications can be downloaded from the TWRC website. (Application Below) The application consists of a short questionnaire/essay that must be completed by each applicant. Once the application is completed, it must be mailed to the TWRC Scholarship Committee at the address on the application. All applications must be postmarked by no later than March 31st.

Criteria for TWRC’s awarding of these scholarships are as follows:

• Expected graduation in May or June from one of the following schools: The Woodlands High School, The Woodlands College Park High School, Oak Ridge High School, The John Cooper School, The Woodlands Christian Academy and The Woodlands Academy Prep School or any senior student of a current TWRC member who may attend another area school not listed previously, but meets all other criteria below.;
• Evidence of past interest in and commitment to running;
• Stated commitment to continuing running;
• Current good standing on her/his school’s track or cross-country running team;
• Strong academic performance;
• Active participation in extracurricular activities and community service and evidence of good citizenship;
• Expected enrollment as a full-time college or university student in the fall;

Once the application deadline has expired, all applications will be reviewed by a TWRC member who is not part of the Scholarship Committee. This member’s role will be to remove any identifying information on the applications to insure that the Scholarship Committee members do not know the identity of the applicants during the selection process. Once the personal information has been removed from the applications, they will be sent to Scholarship Committee members for review. The two highest scoring males and the two highest scoring females will be asked to interview with the Scholarship Committee. The interviews will determine who receives the $2000 scholarship and who receives the $1000 runner up scholarship. All scholarships are paid in two parts, typically half each semester.

The winners of the 2009 scholarship were Erin Miller and Steven Mize, both of The Woodlands High School. The 2010 winners were Caitlin Whittemore and Tom Sanderson of The Woodlands High School. The 2011 winners are Bailey Connor of The Woodlands High School and Austin Agrella of The John Cooper School. The 2012 winners are Celeste Neff and Kamren Hollingsworth, both of College Park High School. The 2013 winners attend The Woodlands High School. Abby Feeney will be attending Dartmouth College and Kevin Hill will be attending Purdue University in the fall. The 2014 winners are Derek Tam from The John Cooper School, he is running for UC Berkeley and Kara Zuspan from The Woodlands High School, she is running for UT. The 2015 winners are Eric Kroon from The Woodlands High School and Abby Estes from Oakridge High. Both will be attending UT Austin in the fall. Matthew McClellan and Hannah Hill of TWHS are the 2016 recipients of the $2000 TWRC college scholarships. Hannah will be attending Baylor while Matthew will going to UT Austin in the fall. The 2017 winners of $2000 each are Katherine Young and Austin Cole. Katherine of TWHS is going to A&M and majoring in Allied Health while Austin of Oak Ridge High School will be attending The U of H and majoring in Mechanical Engineering. For 2018 TWRC decided to offer the runner up male and female $1000 as well. Congratulations! First place and $2000 each goes to Caroline Frenzel (UT) and Jake Lanier (A&M). The 2018 runner up and $1000 each goes to Addison Davis (Grinnell college) and Alexy Skoutnev (UT). For 2019 the 1st place female ($2000) is Lizz Davison who attended TWHS and will be attending University of South Carolina in the Fall. The 2nd place female ($1000) is Jessica Myers who went to The Woodlands College Park High School and will be going to Texas State University. The 1st male ($2000) is Jonathan Letai of College Park High School and will be attending Cornell University in the Fall. The 2nd place male ($1000) is Brian Ross from The John Cooper School; Brian will be attending The University of Texas at Austin.

Want to donate to the TWRC College Scholarship via your credit card? Click HERE


Download the 2020 Scholarship Application

Please apply, the odds are good… TWRC does not receive that many scholarship applications. In 2016 7 women and 11 men applied, in 2017, only 5 men and 11 women applied and in 2018 only 3 women and 4 men applied. The club started awarding two scholarships per gender in 2018 which means in 2018 the odds of winning were 50% or better. In 2019 4 females and 8 males applied. Good luck!

TWRC Event Calendar

« January 2020 »